FESTIVAL

DE LA HARPE

The Festival de La Harpe pays tribute to the great cultural revolutions that have crossed Europe since the Enlightenment, and in which Switzerland has taken an active part.

These revolutions have brought in their wake the art of living, politics, science and have accompanied the evolution of our lives.

What remains of these movements of ideas today? Are their major themes still a source of inspiration for today's artists?

Through a varied program of music, performance, dance, film, and visual arts, we unveil this link between past and present through heritage and innovation, and we bring audiences together to discuss. 

In 2021, we will recharge our batteries with the energy of the Romantic Revolution, this "process of poetizing the world" which was a real breakthrough in 19th century art and whose artists have so often been inspired by Switzerland.

The festival, which aims to highlight artists and young talents residing in Switzerland, as well as European guests, is conceived in a participative way. Most importantly, we are open to collaboration, nurtured by debate and conversation with our audiences, through an educational approach of sharing knowledge and creativity. 

In future editions, Festival de La Harpe will explore further major artistic revolutions. In 2022 we will be celebrating the Surrealist Revolution. Following this, we will enter into 2023 with the Pop Revolution.

ROMANTICISM

ROMANTICISM is an artistic and cultural movement born at the end of the 18th century, crossing Europe until the 1850s. Present in literature, painting, sculpture, music, and politics, it characterizes itself by the liberation of the expression of individual emotions and an impulse of "poeticizing" the world. 

 

As opposed to the rationalism of the 18th century, Romanticism is a reaction of emotion against reason, exalting mystery and fantasy and seeking escape into dreams, the morbid and the sublime, exoticism and the past. 

Capture%20d%E2%80%99e%CC%81cran%202020-1

FESTIVAL

DE LA HARPE

Le Festival de La Harpe célèbre les grandes révolutions culturelles qui ont traversé l'Europe depuis le siècle des Lumières et auxquelles la Suisse a pris une part active.

Ces révolutions ont entraîné dans leur sillage l'art de vivre, la politique, la science et ont accompagné l'évolution de nos vies.

Que reste-t-il aujourd'hui de ces grands mouvements? Leurs thèmes de prédilection sont-ils encore source d'inspiration pour les artistes actuels ?

A travers des représentations de musique, théâtre, danse, cinéma, arts visuels, nous découvrons ce lien entre passé et présent, héritage et innovation et nous proposons au public d'en débattre ensemble.

En 2021, nous nous ressourcerons à l'énergie de la Révolution Romantique, ce "processus de poétisation du monde" qui a été une vraie rupture dans l'art du XIXème siècle et dont les artistes ont si souvent été inspirés par la Suisse.

 

Le cadre constitué par le périmètre entre l'île de La Harpe et le château de Rolle est à ce titre particulièrement adapté à ces évocations.

Le festival, qui vise à mettre en lumière des artistes et jeunes talent résidants en Suisse, ainsi que des invités européens, est conçu sur un mode participatif: il est ouvert à la collaboration de tous et nourri du débat du public, du monde éducatif, des artistes invités.

Le Festival de La Harpe poursuivra l'exploration des grandes révolutions artistiques au cours de ses prochaines éditions. En 2022, nous célèbrerons la Révolution Surréaliste, pour faire revivre ensuite la Révolution Pop en 2023. 

ROMANTISME

Le Romantisme est un mouvement artistique et culturel né à la fin du 18ème siècle, traversant l’Europe jusqu’aux années 1850. Présent en littérature, peinture, sculpture, musique et politique, il se caractérise notamment par  la libération de l’expression des émotions individuelles et un élan de poétisation du monde. 

 

Le Romantisme qui s’oppose au rationalisme du 18ème siècle, est une réaction du sentiment contre la raison, exaltant le mystère et le fantastique et cherchant l’évasion dans le rêve, le morbide et le sublime, l’exotisme et le passé. 

Capture%20d%E2%80%99e%CC%81cran%202020-1